The 16 Political Regions In Ghana And Their Capitals

Ghana is currently held together by 16 political regions with each of these regions headed by a regional minister who is an appointee from the central government, precisely the president of the country.

With the existence of these regions, each region has a number of political districts, municipal or metropolitan assembly which is headed by a chief executive officer, also an appointee from the seat of the presidency.

With all these in place, Ghana is made safe with an enabling environment for business and trades of all nature. But in case you find yourself in any of these regions as a tourist or a businessman and want to meet with the regional minister, you have to visit the capital of the region.

For this singular reason, we dedicated this article to enlighten you on the 16 political regions of Ghana and their capitals so that you will not find it difficult to make your approach to leadership.

Before 2019, there were 10 regions in Ghana. However, by popular request from some citizens in some of these regions, four of the regions were restructured leading to the birth of six news regions bringing us to a total of 16 political regions in Ghana.

16 Regions in Ghana and Their Capitals

As said already, 6 new regions were introduced in 2019 to add up to the existing 10. These are; North East, and Savannah carved from Northern Region, Oti from Volta, Western North from Western Region, Bono, and Bono East from the Brong Ahafo Region.

Now let me take you through all the 16 political regions in Ghana and their capital cities. I hope you find this educative enough to lead your friends here as much as possible.

Region                                   Capital City

  • Northern                        Tamale
  • North East                      Nareligu
  • Savannah                       Damango
  • Volta                              Ho
  • Oti                                 Dambi
  • Bono                             Sunyani
  • Ahafo                            Goaso
  • Bono East                     Techiman
  • Western                        Sekondi-Takoradi
  • Central                         Cape Coast
  • Eastern                         Koforidua
  • Ashanti                         Kumasi
  • Upper West                  Wa
  • Upper East                   Bolgatanga
  • Greater Accra              Accra
  • Western North            Sefwi Wiawso

Summary of The 16 Political Regions in Ghana and Their Capital Towns

In all, we understand that there are 16 political regions in Ghana with each of them having a number of districts and a regional minister.

We also understand that each of the political districts and municipal and metropolitan assemblies have a chief executive officer heading it.

Leave a Comment